Wednesday, 14 March 2018

Steps to Restore Deleted Office 365 Group using Office 365 Admin Center

Microsoft forcing Office 365 Group as a base service for other office 365 services like Planner, MS Teams, Yammer, etc... As O365 group becomes a core feature, keeping its identity is very important. When you delete (soft-delete) an Office 365 group, by default the deleted group retained for 30 days. After 30 days, the group and its associated its content will be permanently deleted and cannot be restored.

When a group is restored, the following content also restored:
  • Azure Active Directory (AD) Office 365 Group object and its properties.
  • Group SMTP address.
  • Exchange Online shared inbox and calendar.
  • SharePoint Online team site and files.
  • OneNote notebook.
  • Planner buckets, tasks. etc...
  • Microsoft Team or Office 365 Connected Yammer group, and its related content.

Follow the below steps to recover deleted O365 group:

  • In the left navigation, expand Admin center, and then select Exchange.
office 365 restore deleted office 365 group
  • In the Exchange admin center, under recipients, select groups
restore deleted unified group
  • Now you can see all groups and its active status. 
  • You can sort the groups by clicking the column header Status and see soft deleted groups on top. If the group has been permanently deleted, it won't be listed here.
  • Select the deleted group that you want to restore and you can view delete time info in the right pane. 
  • Now choose the Restore icon to recover the selected group. 
how to restore or recover deleted office 365 group

  • Finally click Refresh icon to update the reports page and you can see the restored group will show as Active.


No comments:

Post a Comment