Wednesday, 15 May 2013

What is the thumbs.db file


This article is explaining about what is the thumbs.db file and how to disable or stop the creation of thumbs db file and how to clean up existing thumbs db files.


What is the Thumbs db file

    Thumbs.db is nothing but the cache file for thumbnails view. Anytime thumbnails view is enabled or has been enabled in Microsoft Windows the hidden file thumbs.db is automatically created in the same directory as where the thumbnails have been viewed. This file contains the information required by Windows to display the thumbnails for each of the icons and will be placed in every folder thumbnails are viewed.

This file can be safely deleted from any directory, however, it will be automatically recreated if thumbnails view is still enabled and you view that directory again.

How to disable/stop creation of thumbs db file?

   For Windows XP:
  • Open My Computer
  • Click on Tools    
  • Click the Folder Options
  • Click the View tab
  • Check the box next to "Do not cache thumbnails"
  • Click Apply and click OK to save settings.
  For Windows Vista and Windows 7:
  • Click the Start button
  • Click on Control Panel
  • Click on Tools    
  • Click the Folder Options
  • Click the View tab
  • Under the Files and Folders section check the button next to "Always show icons, never thumbnails"
  • Click Apply and click OK to save settings.

How to clean up existing thumbs db files?

   You can clean up by running Disk Cleanup in Vista or Windows 7 to remove any thumbs.db files that have already been created.
  • Click the Start button
  • Go to Accessories --> System Tools --> Disk Cleanup
  • In Disk Cleanup: Drive Selection make sure the (C:) drive is showing
  • Click OK (disk cleanup will run a brief calculation and then end)
  • On the Disk Cleanup Menu make sure there's a check next to the Thumbnails entry.
  • Click OK, then on the Delete Files pop up - the files you selected will be cleaned.
Best wishes,



No comments:

Post a Comment